Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Catalog Number KSa044826
Collection Kate Strong Historical Library
Object Name Letter
Dates of Creation 1810/02/25
Scope & Content Scotchtown County of Orange Feb, 25th 1810
Dear Brother,
I embrace this opportunity to inform you that we are all at present in tolerable health but (I) have been considerable unwell this winter, afflicted very much with a pain in my breast occasioned. I expect by some strain and sudden cold setting in, but I am in hopes it is a waring of. The winter has been very poor, There has not been snow enough to make any sledding this winter. The snow has not been 4 inches deep this winter. It is considerable sickly and a great many deaths with the spotted fever. My girl - Jane Harriet Williamson - is a very fine growing child. She can set alone.
I wish you to come and see us, We expected you up this winter. I expect to come on the Island next fall. I have plenty of work engagd for the ensuing season. If you had come up this winter I would employd you this summer. I have one house engagd to finish for which I get the sum of 325 dollars cash, paid in hand when the job is compleated and another small house for which I have 70 dollars, besides other small jobs which if God spares my health I hope to compleat.
We think very strange we dont receive any letters from any of you. I wish you and the rest for not to be sparing of your letters. Put them in the post office and they will soon come. Me and my wife's respects to father, mother, brother, and sisters, and all inquiring friends.
I Remain you Affectionate Brother Seth Wmson
Notes - Purchased from Bernard Press by R. M. Gipson for the Museums